Mallard

Some boys told me
they were on the bus
when it ran him over,
and he was still there.

I found his oily green
head spattered
with blood, his grey
breast open, emptied.

I flopped him towards
a flowerbed grave.
No proud, stiff neck.
No pontoon body, careful eye.

His lover watched me
from across the lawn,
calling with cracked sounds
as I buried him.

– John LeMasney

 

In Defiant Protest

When you shake your head
while I’m speaking
what I know is the truth
I surpress a scream.

I can feel a protest rising in my throat
but I’ve learned to smother it
with a pillow
and slowly push in a knife
to quiet my convictions
to avoid a follow up sit down
written out reprimand.

I think back to times
when I said to myself
I love what I’m doing
I’d do this for free
I’ll do this
for the rest of my life

When we speak at each other
sometimes in gently increasing volume
and a sharpened tone,
raising our fingers
to note we’d like a chance to speak again
we’re not listening.

We’re just speaking.

We’re not in a dialogue
but two monologues.

You remind us very often
that this is not a democracy
and that if we don’t fit in here
we should leave
and my chest tightens when I hear it.

Having to leave would mean
starting over with
devils I don’t know,
demons I don’t care about,
daemons I don’t run
anymore.

You removed them from my care,
and it was of the greatest valence to me
in this work of service and bits.

And I have always felt
calm in this place,
until recently.

John LeMasney, 2008